An example report on a real UK business

CASTELAN LIMITED is shown so you can see the full output. Run the same report on your own company in under two minutes.

Value my own business
CASTELAN LIMITED logo

Valuation: CASTELAN LIMITED

Indicative valuation

£8.3m to £10.7m

Typical exit EBITDA multiple
5x - 6.5x
From operating profit to adjusted EBITDA

Normalisation bridge, GBP

  • EBITDA
  • Add back
£1.2m
+£127k
+£145k
£1.4m
+£180k
+£37k
£1.6m
Operating profit
Depreciation
Amortisation
Filed EBITDA
FY2026 roll-forward
filed accounts are 18 months old; 10% revenue growth at broadly held margin
Director consultancy fees
related party cost a buyer would not repeat
Adjusted EBITDA
FY2025 operating profit of £1,160,727 plus depreciation of £126,882 and amortisation of £144,991 gives filed EBITDA of £1,432,600; adding £180,000 for the FY2026 roll-forward and £37,400 of director consultancy fees gives £1.65m adjusted EBITDA
What this range hangs on
  • FY2026 revenue reached about £17m at an EBITDA margin of at least 9%.
  • The £10m debtors balance is clean, collectible and normally financed.
  • No single retailer client represents an outsized share of revenue.
  • Consumer Duty fair value work does not compress commissions.

Regulated warranty and claims administration trades at 5-7x at this size, discounted here for a 9% EBITDA margin and only partly recurring revenue, with Davies Group/BC Partners (2021) as the directional precedent at far greater scale.

Confidence: medium. Full audited accounts give solid FY2024 and FY2025 figures, but the latest year is 18 months old and client concentration is undisclosed.

Section 01

Company snapshot

FieldDetail
Registered nameCastelan Limited
Company number07637133
Incorporated2011 (17 May 2011)
Registered officeAlpha House, Sunnyside Road North, Weston-super-Mare, BS23 3QY
Principal ownerCastelan Group Limited (09718286), 75-100% of shares and voting rights
DirectorsIan Annand, Stuart David Armstrong, Martin John Napper
SIC / activity65120 Non-life insurance
Accounts made up to31 March 2025 (full, audited, filed 2 January 2026)

Most recent filed accounts: FY2025, made up to 31 March 2025. That is about 18 months old today, and FY2026 (to 31 March 2026) is complete but not yet filed (due 31 December 2026). The valuation below is therefore based on a rolled-forward FY2026 figure, which widens the uncertainty band materially.

Section 02

Business description

Castelan administers furniture protection and warranty policies and delivers the repair, restoration and replacement work behind them, for major UK retailers, manufacturers, insurers and leisure operators (website). Income comes from policy administration and underwriting-adjacent fees, a national technician network (Furniture Care Network), commercial furniture refurbishment contracts and care product sales. The accounts show warranty profit recognised partly on set-up or renewal with the remainder deferred over policy life, so revenue is a blend of recurring policy book economics and contracted service volume rather than pure recurring subscription.

Section 03

The industry

The sector is outsourced extended warranty and protection-plan administration, with an attached field repair network, regulated by the FCA. UK extended warranty and protection products are an estimated £1.5bn to £2bn of annual gross written premium and commission, with the furniture and homewares slice perhaps £200m to £300m (estimates, not sourced). Demand is driven by retailers seeking attachment income on low-margin furniture sales, by consumers repairing rather than replacing, and by insurers outsourcing claims handling to specialists. Growth is low single digit overall: furniture retail volumes have been soft since 2022, offset by rising attachment rates and price inflation, so we assume 3 to 8% sector growth. The market is moderately consolidated at the top (a handful of national administrators and protection brands) with a long tail of regional repair networks; larger insurance services groups and claims outsourcers have been actively rolling up administrators and MGAs. The main structural risk over three to five years is regulatory: FCA Consumer Duty and fair value assessments have already reset pricing on add-on and GAP-style products, and commission compression is a live threat to margin. For a seller, acquirers of regulated administration platforms remain active and well funded, but the regulatory overhang means the window favours those who can evidence fair value compliance now rather than in two years.

Section 04

Top competitors

Inferred from the website and general market knowledge, not sourced from filings.

  • Guardsman UK (Sherwin-Williams): furniture protection plans and repair network; far larger parent.
  • Uniters UK: European furniture warranty and care products; broadly comparable scale.
  • Staingard: furniture protection insurance brand sold through retailers; similar niche, smaller.
  • Homeserve-lineage furniture repair operators: direct heritage overlap on network repair.
  • Domestic & General: warranty administration at scale; appliance-led and many times larger.
Section 05

Reconstructed profit and loss

Revenue, gross profit and EBITDA

Reconstructed profit and loss, GBP, figures marked (est.) are derived

  • EBITDA
  • Additional gross profit
  • Cost of sales to total revenue
£13.7m
£15.7m
£17.3m
£1.6m
FY2024
GP £4m · EBITDA £1.1m
173 employees
FY2025
GP £4.7m · EBITDA £1.4m
176 employees
FY2026 (est., rolled forward) (est.)
GP £5.2m · EBITDA £1.6m
176 (est.) employees

Basis: FY2025 and FY2024 figures are read from the full audited FRS 102 accounts filed 2 January 2026 (turnover less cost of sales for gross profit; operating profit plus depreciation of £127k and amortisation of £145k for FY2025 EBITDA of £1.4m). The FY2026 column is our roll-forward at 10% revenue growth (against 14.6% actual in FY2025) with gross margin held at 30% and EBITDA margin nudged to 9.3%, consistent with the directors' going concern note on strengthening trading and positive FY26/FY27 forecasts.

Section 06

Reconstructed balance sheet

LineFY2025FY2024
Fixed assets£1.7m£1.9m
Stockn/dn/d
Debtors£10.0m (est.)£10.5m (est.)
Cash£1.7m£700k
Creditors due within one year£9.6m£10.1m
Creditors due after one year£970k£1.0m
Net current assets£2.2m (est.)£1.1m (est.)
Net assets£2.2m£1.5m

Debtors are derived as current assets less cash; stock is not separately disclosed in the extracted text. Working capital is exceptionally heavy for a service business: roughly £10m of receivables and prepayments against £15.7m of revenue, funded in part by an invoice discounting facility, so a buyer will set a demanding normalised working capital peg and will test the quality of that balance hard in diligence. Debt-like items at completion will include the bank mortgage secured by debenture and legal charge over the freehold, the invoice discounting drawn balance, directors' loans of £25k and the £37k owed to a director; the freehold (fair valued at £1.5m at 31 July 2024) and deferred income of £579k will both be negotiated items, and cash of £1.7m is largely operational rather than surplus.

Section 07

Valuation and workings

Regulated warranty and claims administration businesses of this size typically trade at 5.0x to 7.0x EV/EBITDA, with the upper end reserved for high-margin, high-retention policy books. The most credible public precedent is BC Partners' acquisition of Davies Group, the insurance claims and administration outsourcer, in 2021, reported at a substantially higher multiple on a far larger platform (Reuters). No furniture-warranty transaction with a disclosed multiple is in the public domain, so we have not invented one.

We apply 5.0x to 6.5x to adjusted EBITDA of £1.65m, giving an indicative enterprise value of £8.3m to £10.7m. As set out in the bridge in the report opening, filed FY2025 operating profit of £1.16m plus depreciation of £127k and amortisation of £145k gives EBITDA of £1.4m; we add £180k for the FY2026 roll-forward (10% revenue growth at broadly held margin, given the accounts are 18 months old) and £37k for consultancy fees paid to a director that a buyer would not repeat, giving adjusted EBITDA of £1.65m. We have not added back directors' remuneration of £553k: the CEO, FD and COO are working executives whose roles must be replaced.

The multiple sits below the sector midpoint because, on our assumptions, EBITDA margin is only 5 to 10% and revenue quality is around 30% recurring with ±10% swings. It is lifted off the floor by 8 to 20% growth, ~2% capex intensity and an FCA permission with a 1.5m-customer footprint.

What this range hangs on:

  • FY2026 delivered at least £17m of revenue at a margin no worse than FY2025.
  • The £10m receivables balance is clean and collectible, not a working capital hole.
  • Retailer contracts are contracted, assignable and not concentrated in one or two accounts.
  • Consumer Duty fair value assessments do not force commission or premium reductions.
Section 08

What buyers call exceptional

These bars are calibrated for UK SMEs and do not apply to midcap or larger businesses, where the thresholds are very different.

MetricGoodExceptionalThis businessRead
Industry growth5%+10%+3-8% (est.)Good
Revenue scale£10m+£20m+£17.3m (est.)Good
Revenue growth8%+15%+14.6% FY24-FY25Good
EBITDA margin17.5%+22.5%+9.5% (est.)Below
Gross margin50%+75%+30%Below
Customer concentration (top 5)<15%<10%not disclosedUnknown

Margin is what caps the multiple: at scale of £17m you are being paid on a 9% EBITDA line, and every point of margin is worth roughly £900k of enterprise value.

Section 09

Preparing for exit

WhenActionWhy a buyer caresEffect
0-3 monthsProduce a top-10 client revenue and gross margin schedule with contract end dates and notice periodsRetailer concentration is the single biggest unknown in this fileMultiple (up)
0-3 monthsReconcile the £10m debtors balance by ageing, and evidence collectability and the invoice discounting drawdownHeavy working capital drives the completion peg and the price you actually bankBoth (up)
0-3 monthsFile FY2026 accounts early rather than at the 31 December deadlineThe last three filings were paper-filed and late in the window; buyers read that as weak reporting disciplineMultiple (up)
3-9 monthsDocument Consumer Duty fair value assessments and the FCA permission scope in a diligence packRegulatory risk is the main reason this sector is discountedMultiple (up)
3-9 monthsSeparate and report the three divisions (furniture care, commercial services, insurance) by revenue, gross margin and recurrenceLets a buyer pay for the recurring policy book rather than blending it into repair workMultiple (up)
9-12+ monthsDrive gross margin above 30% via technician utilisation and repricing of legacy retailer schemesEach point of gross margin flows straight to EBITDA at 9% marginsEBITDA (up)
9-12+ monthsResolve the freehold, mortgage, director loans and £37k director consultancy into a clean pre-sale structureRemoves debt-like haggling at completion and clarifies whether property is in or outBoth (up)

Highest return: evidencing client concentration and contract terms, because without it a buyer will price the worst case and defer a large share of consideration.

Section 10

Choosing your sale route

RouteFitWhy
Trade saleStrong fit£17m revenue, FCA permission and a national technician network are exactly the assets a larger administrator or claims outsourcer buys; synergy on overheads is real at 9% margins.
Private equityPossibleManagement below the shareholders is deep and credible, but 9% EBITDA margin and ~30% recurring revenue make the platform case harder than a typical MGA roll-up.
Individual operatorPossible£1.65m adjusted EBITDA supports a debt-backed single buyer, though FCA change-in-control approval and the £10m receivables book narrow the field.
Employee Ownership TrustUnlikelyConsideration would be paid from future profits on a thin margin and a working capital hungry balance sheet, leaving too little cash at completion.

A trade sale would attract insurance services groups, claims and warranty outsourcers and protection-plan brands seeking UK furniture capability and an FCA-authorised platform. Realistically that means a competitive headline price with meaningful earn-out attached to client retention, a six to nine month process with regulatory change-in-control adding time, and absorption of the Castelan brand with the founding directors exiting inside twelve months.

Section 11

What the process looks like

At your size expect a full, professionally run process with a national mid market adviser and genuine competitive tension between several bidders. Allow around nine to twelve months from starting properly to money in the bank.

PhaseWhat happensTypical duration
PreparationVendor due diligence, a clean three to five year financial track record, a normalised EBITDA bridge, a data room built before launch2 to 3 months
MarketingA teaser goes to a wide list of trade and financial buyers, NDAs, then a full information memorandum1 to 2 months
Offers and selectionRound one indicative offers, management presentations, round two offers, then heads of terms with exclusivity2 months
Due diligenceFinancial, legal, tax, commercial and often IT and insurance workstreams run in parallel2 to 3 months
LegalsShare purchase agreement, disclosure letter, warranties, W and I insurance, management rollover documents1 to 2 months
Completion and beyondSigning, funds flow, then a handover and often an earn out period of twelve to twenty four monthsOngoing

At this size the single biggest determinant of price is competitive tension. A process with one buyer is a negotiation. A process with four is an auction.

What this is built from

  • Companies House filings for 07637133.
  • The company's public website (castelangroup.com), read for what the business actually does and who it sells to.
  • Your own ratings on growth, stability, margin and capex, plus sector exit multiples for comparable UK businesses.

Want this as a PDF?

Provide your email to get this report sent as a PDF

It should arrive immediately. Check your spam if not.

Next step

Exit your business to 1868 Capital

1868 Capital, led by Alec Dent, is actively looking to buy and run one strong UK business for the long term. If the profile fits, we can move quickly.

LinkedIn post by Alec Dent

Why Alec started 1868 Capital

LinkedIn post

Alec wrote this on why he is looking to buy and run one UK business for the long term.

Read on LinkedIn

Who is Alec?

Alec Dent leads 1868 Capital, which powers this Exit Estimator. He is looking to buy and personally run one high-quality UK business for the long term.

Before this he co-founded Weezy, grew it to hundreds of staff, sold it to Getir and ran global strategy there. You would be selling your business to an operator who has built, scaled and sold a company.

Is 1868 Capital the right fit?

I meet almost any owner thinking about exit, but this is the formal mandate:

  • ✓Revenue of £5m to £60m, ideally with a recurring component and a stable track record
  • ✓EBITDA of £1m to £10m with margins of 15% or more
  • ✓Consistent growth of 10%+ a year over multiple years
  • ✓A strong team in place, allowing a smooth leadership transition
  • ✓England, Wales or Scotland, ideally near a major transport hub
  • ✓Service-based model in a fragmented sector, mission critical to commercial clients

Other ways to sell

If the mandate does not fit, you may still have strong options:

Trade sale

A competitor or customer buys you. Often the highest headline price, but your business is absorbed and your legacy fades.

Private equity

Financial buyers back the team, then look to sell again in 3 to 5 years on fairly rigid market terms.

Employee Ownership Trust

Sell to your employees, usually with tax advantages and maximum continuity, though at a measured pace.

Value my business