An example report on a real UK business

PANIFICIO ITALIANO LIMITED is shown so you can see the full output. Run the same report on your own company in under two minutes.

Value my own business
PANIFICIO ITALIANO LIMITED logo

Valuation: PANIFICIO ITALIANO LIMITED

Indicative valuation

£4.0m to £5.5m

Adjusted EBITDA
£1.0m
Typical exit EBITDA multiple
4x - 5.5x

Normalised from FY2025 filed operating profit of £404k plus estimated depreciation of c.£1m, rounded to reflect partial recovery from trough year

UK wholesale bakery sector typically 4-6x EBITDA; discounted for negative growth and capex intensity, supported by modern facility and BRC accreditation

Confidence: medium

Section 01

Company snapshot

FieldDetail
Registered namePanificio Italiano Limited
Company number09935841
Incorporated2016 (5 January 2016)
Registered officeUnit 29 The Ridgeway, Iver, Buckinghamshire, SL0 9HX
Principal ownerMr Piero Scacco (75–100% of shares, 50–75% voting rights, right to appoint and remove directors)
DirectorsPiero Scacco, Maria Josephine Cooper, Matthew Gorman, Justin Charles Neal, David Upton Powell, Ryan Peters
SIC / activity10710 – Manufacture of bread; manufacture of fresh pastry goods and cakes
Accounts made up to31 March 2025

Section 02

Business description

Panificio Italiano is a wholesale artisan bakery manufacturing frozen and ambient bread products, including rolls, ciabatta, baguettes, brioche and bespoke lines, from a purpose-built 45,000 sq ft facility in Iver. Customers include major retailers, food service operators and airlines; the company also operates a subsidiary logistics fleet for distribution. Revenue is overwhelmingly project-based or order-by-order with large customers rather than subscription or contracted recurring income.


Section 03

The industry

The UK bakery manufacturing sector generates roughly £4 billion to £5 billion annually at ex-factory prices (estimate). Growth has been flat to low single-digit in recent years, broadly tracking population and food service demand, with inflationary headwinds on wheat, energy and labour offsetting modest volume gains.

Demand is driven by convenience-led eating, growth in food-to-go, quick service restaurants and airline catering recovery post-pandemic. The market is fragmented at the artisan end, where hundreds of small and mid-sized producers compete, but consolidation is accelerating: large food groups, private-equity backed platforms and trade buyers are acquiring regional bakeries to capture national distribution contracts and spread fixed costs.

Looking ahead, the next three to five years should see continued roll-up activity, with scale players seeking automated, allergen-controlled facilities like Panificio's. The main structural risk is customer concentration: a handful of retailers and airlines can delist product lines quickly, as Panificio experienced in FY2025, causing sharp revenue swings.

For a seller, this is a reasonable window. Trade acquirers are active, particularly for facilities with modern automation and BRC accreditation, but competition for assets means pricing remains disciplined unless the seller can demonstrate a stable or recovering revenue trajectory.


Section 04

Top competitors

  • La Boulangerie – wholesale artisan bread to retail and food service (inferred)
  • Délifrance UK – frozen bakery goods to airlines and hospitality (inferred)
  • Bakkavor Bread – large-scale bread and baked goods for major retailers (inferred)
  • Bertinet Bakery – artisan loaves and rolls for premium retail (inferred)
  • Speciality Breads – wholesale sourdough and ciabatta for food service (inferred)

Section 05

Reconstructed profit and loss

Most recent filed accounts: FY2025, made up to 31 March 2025. Data is approximately four months old at the date of this note; no roll-forward required.

Revenue, gross profit and EBITDA

Reconstructed profit and loss, GBP, figures marked (est.) are derived

  • EBITDA
  • Additional gross profit
  • Cost of sales to total revenue
£14.6m
£2.9m
£12.3m
£1.4m
FY2024 (est.)
GP £7.9m · EBITDA £2.9m
106 employees
FY2025 (est.)
GP £6m · EBITDA £1.4m
109 employees

Basis: Revenue, gross profit and headcount are taken directly from the consolidated statement of income and the strategic report (group accounts filed under FRS 102). EBITDA is estimated by adding back depreciation to operating profit. Depreciation is not separately disclosed but can be inferred from the tangible fixed asset note and prior-year movements; using an approximate £1.0m annual depreciation charge (consistent with £10.9m fixed assets on a 10–12 year useful life mix), FY2025 EBITDA is approximately £1.4m and FY2024 approximately £2.9m.


Section 06

Reconstructed balance sheet

LineFY2025FY2024
Fixed assets£10.9m£9.9m
Stock£337k£358k
Debtors£3.5m£3.6m
Cash£1.2m£2.7m
Creditors due within one year£5.1m£6.1m
Creditors due after one yearn/dn/d
Net current assets(£41k)£572k
Net assets£9.9m£9.6m

The business holds £1.2m cash with no external debt disclosed; creditors due within one year will include trade payables and accruals, likely to normalise on sale. There is a £1.0m deferred tax provision, largely relating to accelerated capital allowances on the heavy fixed asset base. Working capital is typical for a manufacturing bakery, with meaningful debtors reflecting 30- to 60-day terms with retail and airline customers. The high fixed asset base (c.£11m) against a £12m revenue business indicates substantial property, plant and automation; any acquirer should confirm whether the leasehold premises (new five-year lease from October 2025) and machinery are free of HP or finance leases. Cash at completion looks modest; enterprise value and equity value should be close unless undisclosed director loans or HP balances emerge in diligence.


Section 07

Valuation and workings

UK food manufacturing SMEs typically trade at 4.0x to 6.0x EBITDA, with the lower end for volatile, capital-intensive or single-customer-dependent businesses and the upper end for growing, contracted revenue streams and modern facilities.

Panificio's FY2025 EBITDA of approximately £1.4m is well down on FY2024's £2.9m following a 15% revenue drop caused by customer delistings. On our assumption of 0–3% industry growth and negative recent business growth, a multiple of 4.0x to 5.5x is appropriate. The modern, automated, BRC AA-accredited facility and allergen-controlled environment support the mid-range; the sharp profit decline, customer concentration risk and heavy capex intensity (over 10% of revenue invested in FY2025) cap the upper end.

Comparable transaction (inferred): The UK bakery sector has seen multiple acquisitions; for example, Signature Flatbreads (acquired by Cérélia, 2021) reportedly transacted at mid-single-digit EBITDA multiples for a similar wholesale bakery profile. Exact terms were not publicly disclosed.
Source: Food Manufacture article

Indicative enterprise value: £1.0m EBITDA (normalised, averaging the FY2025 trough with partial recovery, rounded) × 4.0x to 5.5x = £4.0m to £5.6m.


Section 08

What buyers call exceptional

These bars are calibrated for UK SMEs and do not apply to midcap or larger businesses, where the thresholds are very different.

MetricGoodExceptionalThis businessRead
Industry growth5%+10%+0–3% (est.)Below
Revenue scale£10m+£20m+£12.3mGood
Revenue growth8%+15%+(15%)Below
EBITDA margin17.5%+22.5%+11% (est.)Below
Gross margin50%+75%+49%Below
Customer concentration (top 5)<15%<10%not disclosedUnknown

The metric that most limits the multiple today is revenue growth, which is sharply negative and signals instability to buyers.


Section 09

Preparing for exit

WhenActionWhy a buyer caresEffect
0–3 monthsProduce detailed customer-level revenue breakdown for last three yearsReveals concentration risk and validates recovery storyMultiple ↑
0–3 monthsClarify status of Iver Logistics wind-down and any liabilities retainedBuyers will discount for unknown subsidiary tail risksMultiple ↑
3–9 monthsSecure new contracted volumes to replace delisted linesStabilises EBITDA trajectory and proves recoveryEBITDA ↑ / Multiple ↑
3–9 monthsFormalise management succession below owner (COO or operations lead)Reduces key-person risk on 88-year-old founderMultiple ↑
3–9 monthsDocument NPD pipeline and any exclusivity or IP on bespoke recipesDifferentiates the business from commodity bakeriesMultiple ↑
9–12+ monthsReview capex plan: ensure maintenance spend only, no speculative investmentHeavy capex depresses free cash flow and net proceedsEBITDA ↑
9–12+ monthsNegotiate customer contracts with volume commitments or longer termsShifts revenue quality from project-based to recurringMultiple ↑

The single highest-return action is securing new contracted volumes to demonstrate that FY2025's decline has bottomed out, as this directly supports both EBITDA and multiple.


Section 10

Choosing your sale route

RouteFitWhy
Trade sale to competitor, customer or supplierStrong fit£12m revenue, modern automated facility and BRC AA accreditation are attractive to consolidators seeking production capacity; synergies can justify premium
Private equity (buy and build)PossibleScale is sufficient but negative growth and founder-dependent management weaken the investment case; would need credible ops team in place
Sale to an individual operatorPossibleFacility complexity and capital intensity make it harder for a single operator to finance and run without bakery experience; price likely fair rather than top
Employee Ownership TrustUnlikelyHeavy capex and volatile profits make funding the deferred consideration from cash flow challenging; limited tax benefit on current EBITDA

A trade sale to a larger food group or consolidator is the strongest route. These buyers are actively rolling up mid-sized bakeries with modern, allergen-controlled production and established retail and airline relationships. For this owner, a trade process would likely mean a competitive auction among two or three strategic bidders, completion within six to nine months, and a probable exit within twelve months of sale, with a headline price reflecting synergy value rather than standalone earnings.


Section 11

What the process looks like

At your size a sale is usually a targeted process rather than a full auction: a regional or sector corporate finance adviser approaches a shortlist of credible buyers rather than the whole market. Expect around six to nine months from starting properly to money in the bank.

PhaseWhat happensTypical duration
PreparationClean up the numbers, produce three years of consistent management accounts, pull contracts and leases together, agree expectations on price and timing1 to 3 months
MarketingA short anonymous teaser goes to a targeted buyer list, interested parties sign an NDA and receive an information memorandum1 to 2 months
Offers and selectionIndicative non binding offers arrive, you meet the serious buyers, you pick one and sign heads of terms with exclusivity1 to 2 months
Due diligenceThe buyer's accountants and lawyers examine financial, legal, tax and commercial detail. This is the phase that most often moves the price2 to 3 months
LegalsThe share purchase agreement, disclosure letter, warranties and any service agreements are negotiated in parallel with diligence1 to 2 months
Completion and beyondSigning, funds flow, then a handover period you have committed to, commonly six to twelve monthsOngoing

A specialist adviser is worth their fee here mainly through competitive tension and through protecting the price during diligence, not through finding a buyer you could not have found yourself.

What this is built from

  • Companies House filings for 09935841.
  • The company's public website (www.panificioitaliano.co.uk), read for what the business actually does and who it sells to.
  • Your own ratings on growth, stability, margin and capex, plus sector exit multiples for comparable UK businesses.

Want this as a PDF?

Provide your email to get this report sent as a PDF

It should arrive immediately. Check your spam if not.

Next step

Exit your business to 1868 Capital

1868 Capital, led by Alec Dent, is actively looking to buy and run one strong UK business for the long term. If the profile fits, we can move quickly.

LinkedIn post by Alec Dent

Why Alec started 1868 Capital

LinkedIn post

Alec wrote this on why he is looking to buy and run one UK business for the long term.

Read on LinkedIn

Who is Alec?

Alec Dent leads 1868 Capital, which powers this Exit Estimator. He is looking to buy and personally run one high-quality UK business for the long term.

Before this he co-founded Weezy, grew it to hundreds of staff, sold it to Getir and ran global strategy there. You would be selling your business to an operator who has built, scaled and sold a company.

Is 1868 Capital the right fit?

I meet almost any owner thinking about exit, but this is the formal mandate:

  • ✓Revenue of £5m to £60m, ideally with a recurring component and a stable track record
  • ✓EBITDA of £1m to £10m with margins of 15% or more
  • ✓Consistent growth of 10%+ a year over multiple years
  • ✓A strong team in place, allowing a smooth leadership transition
  • ✓England, Wales or Scotland, ideally near a major transport hub
  • ✓Service-based model in a fragmented sector, mission critical to commercial clients

Other ways to sell

If the mandate does not fit, you may still have strong options:

Trade sale

A competitor or customer buys you. Often the highest headline price, but your business is absorbed and your legacy fades.

Private equity

Financial buyers back the team, then look to sell again in 3 to 5 years on fairly rigid market terms.

Employee Ownership Trust

Sell to your employees, usually with tax advantages and maximum continuity, though at a measured pace.

Value my business